Monday23 October 2017

What We do

Great Beer, Great Food, Great Atmosphere.

Fresh Food

We source most of our ingredients from local butchers, bakers and greengrocers.

Best Real Ales

The best of British Beer & Cider plus Guest ales changed regularly.

Friendly Service

Family owned and run by a Torrington family.

Reviews

 These reviews are posted on Google Reviews (datest posted from 18th February 2016)

 

Adam Walter

2 weeks ago
If you want to feel like you've stepped back a century or two, this is a lovely old pub to have a drink, or some food in.
Joy Robinson
Joy Robinson
6 months ago
Friendly people, nice and cosy. Great food. Love the fact that it has a history going back century's
Kai Unbekannt
Kai Unbekannt
2 years ago
A nice place to be. Friendly People, good service, food was delicious, children are welcome.
William Westbury
William Westbury
2 years ago
Clean, friendly, good food and real ales.
vicky lewis
vicky lewis
3 years ago
Excellent food, and friendly locals.
Ian Addis
Ian Addis
8 months ago
Very nice, friendly, good food

 

 

These reviews are posted at http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g2144083-d3613723-Reviews-The_Black_Horse-Great_Torrington_Devon_England.html

 Great traditional pub

4 of 5 starsReviewed 22 September 2015

Went here one evening when staying with friends in Torrington. A good old fashioned pub with a good selection of beverages and a great pub menu. Nothing flash about the sorroundings, just a good solid eating and drinking place. Staff very welcoming. Highly recommended.

5 of 5 starsReviewed 15 April 2015

 

10 of us for lunch... all had something different and all the meals came out together... the roasts were yummy... they even obliged with a child's portion for my mum whose appetite isn't very big these days. Just brill...

4 of 5 starsReviewed 16 August 2015

 

fantastic home cooked meals my husband and I had the most deliceous beef burger and the children's meals where good aswell the staff were friendly and the atmosphere and history of the pub was supper. 

5 of 5 starsReviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped in this place after visiting Dartington Crystal and was pleasantly surprised. All the tables had been taken so we sat at the bar and chatted to the bar maid who was very friendly. When our food arrived it was lovely and tasty and we even stayed for dessert. The atmosphere was good so we ended up staying for longer than we'd intended.

 

Visited January 2016
"Great food and plenty of it"

 

4 of 5 starsReviewed 10 September 2013

 

We have enjoyed 2 holidays near Torrington this year and ate at the Black Horse on 4 or 5 occassions. 
The food was extremely good all being cooked to order with fresh ingredients. We had 1 holiday for just the 2 of us and another with our two 12 year olds and the restaurant catered equally well for the youngsters as they did for us.The kitchen produced a good plate whether we had a £8.00 main course or something a little more special. 
If you enjoy a good beef wellington, splash out £15.00 you wont regret it.
The pub is well supported by the locals and keeps some great real ales.
Thank you to the kitchen and restaurant staff for the excellent food you served us. We shall definitely be back!!

"Hidden Gem"
4 of 5 starsReviewed 9 September 2013

We visited this pub whilst touring through the county, Great Torrington is an interesting place with lots of history. The pub is full of historical features, check out the fireplace it dates from the 1600,s. We called in on a Sunday and the menu choice was good, ranging from Sunday lunch to bar snacks. Our food was very tasty, locally sourced produce and well served. Friendly staff, real ale (Trelawny on draught). Lovely fresh salad, best beetroot I have tasted!

'Christmas card type of pub'

"fabulous food  my family love it there best ever burgers -  cheesecake to die
for order dessert with your starter as the good ones sell out fast - when we
went there was only one portion of malteser cheese cake  left and it was tragic
we had to share.
Great omelette's and good Sunday lunches......proper Christmas card type of
pub."

Posted by Aunty  Christine on 31st October 2009

Black Horse

12 May 08, 13:08

Excellent local pub, offering good food in the restuarant and great bar snacks in the bar area. great log fire in the winter, and local singer Roger often appearing. B&B also offered.


Good times

01 May 08, 12:26 Above expectations

This place has a good selection of drinks and yes the food is brilliant! Very popular and always fun. The big function room is great for special occasions.


great location

25 Apr 08, 14:14 Above expectations

situated in the heart of Torrington this is a great pub with amazing food, and a function room at the back which has held many a wedding or evening do. Family run place and very popular with the locals


Always busy

16 Apr 08, 11:58 Above expectations

The Black Horse has got to be one of the most famous buildings in Torrington and it wears its history with pride. The bar is on the left as you go in with a surprisingly large restaurant to the rear: great for Sunday lunch.


Posted at http://www.sugarvine.com/devonandcornwall/reviews/review_detail.asp?restaurantid=39819&name=Black%20Horse%20Inn

Recommended by Nerys Smith (29th August 2006)

My partner and I always make a special effort to go to the black horse inn every time we go on holiday to Devon infact we feel our holiday isn't complete without our annual visit here. Good home cooking at good prices. We especially enjoy it when the open fire is roaring as we always visit in November.